playing catch-up!

A quick post for today. I’m still here! Still doing baby storytime! Just busy, busy, busy, now that I’m preparing to begin an MLS program in about three weeks. Weeee!

As sometimes happens, there’s been a lull at storytime. My usual attendees fell out of the habit, and now I’m lucky when I get 4 or 5 babies. I know this too shall pass–a new crop of babies and their caregivers will inevitably start showing up regularly, and before I know it I’ll have a solid crowd again. But, that might take a while. As in, a couple months. Maybe more than that. I’m hoping not, but I know how hard it can be to make something like that a priority. Confession: I brought my daughter to story time three times (THREE TIMES) in her first year of life. I had the opportunity to go every week but I went three. measly. times. So, if anyone gets it, it’s me.

Anyway, the past few weeks have been hit-or-miss. Here are my book pairings from November and early December:

November 18th: (Beastly Babies by Ellen Jackson, Go Away, Big Green Monster! by Ed Emberley). I really enjoyed Beastly Babies (it’s a new one to our library). Great for baby time and the illustrations are wonderfully vibrant.

   

November 25th AND December 2: Nobody came the first week (day before Thanksgiving). But I had a cute one planned, so I re-used it the following week. Leaves by David Ezra Stein and Leaf Man by Lois Ehlert. I think the Ehlert was a little too long.

  

December 9th (today!): Only four kiddos this morning (two sets of siblings), but the toddlers made it a little more fun, anyway. They did a great job guessing where little mouse was hiding! We read Stripes of All Types by Susan Stockdale and I Like Black and White by Barbara Jean Hicks. I’ll admit, I only read the first few pages of the Hicks when I chose it, but I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought it would. It has a nice little message at the end, with two children with different skin tones playing and dancing together. Stripes of All Types was fun because the pictures are bold and it’s a great introduction to children’s nonfiction.

 

I’m tending away from doing any mention of holidays at storytime. The truth is, kids are bombarded with holiday images everywhere, from daycare to the mall, to television ads and yes, even the main room of the public library. I want storytime to remain an all-inclusive space for children. I am only one librarian. I know that there are others who disagree (I work with some of them!). There’s never any harm in abstaining, while choosing to do holiday storytimes might very well leave someone out. And I don’t want to leave anyone out!

Leave a Reply

