It Looked Like Spilt Pumpkin-Spice Lattes…

My next baby storytime is on Wednesday, and it’ll be my first day back of after a long weekend camping on the ocean with my parents (I’m prepared for some VERY chilly nights). This is the biggest leaf-peeping weekend of the year, and tourists from all over will be driving through my area on their way northward, towards the White Mountains. I love October as much as the next person, but for the love of all things holy, does EVERYTHING in October have to be about pumpkins, leaves, and pies? As a sincere lover of apple pies, an admirer of crunchy-leaf walks, and a pumpkin-carving enthusiast, I can honestly say that there is a time and a place for everything. Sometimes I think of storytime as a nice little vacation from all the holiday blahdeeblah that tends to take over Children’s Departments.

Now that you think I’m a total Grinch about fall (I’m not, I swear!), I’ll share my plans for next Wednesday’s baby lapsit storytime. I chose two books that I think are great for babies thanks to their bold graphics and brief text. I also think they share a message: using your imagination can be a lot of fun. I know that some parents, especially first-time parents with young babies, can often feel silly playing pretend. Or, maybe they’ve just forgotten how to access that part of their brain. I hope these books, and others like them (I’m looking at you, Not a Box!), help introduce a new focus on imaginative play for the families that come to storytime.

820274 perfect square

Welcome:

-Good Morning Song

-Shake My Sillies Out, from More Singable Songs by Raffi

Bounces/ Rhymes/Songs:

-I Bounce You Here

-Toast in the Toaster

-When Ducks Get Up in the Morning

-I’m a Little Teapot

-Pat-A-Cake

-Two Little Blackbirds

Read: It Looked Like Spilt Milk – Shaw

Bounces/ Rhymes/Songs:

-Here is the Beehive

-Hello Little Babies (new this week for me, from KCLS)

-Can You Clap?

-Stretch, Stretch, Stretch (also new for me this week from KCLS)

-This is Big, Big, Big

-The Tiny Mice

Read: Perfect Square – Hall

Shaker egg song:

-“Corner Grocery Store – Raffi

-“You Must Really Like Me” – Parachute Express

Little Mouse Activity

Goodbye + Bubbles:

-“Twinkle, Twinkle” from the album Catch the Moon, by Lisa Loeb and Elizabeth Mitchell

… I’m still worried you think I hate this magical leaf-turny time of year. Here is a pic I snapped on my lunch break today, before I even knew I’d be badmouthing pumpkin-spice-everything on a blog. You can’t deny the beauty of this short season!

wpid-20151010_122759.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

