my secret weapon

bookofrhymes, songs, poems, fingerplays and chants

It seems like no matter how many blogs I visit, webinars I attend, or Pinterest posts I find, I’m always coming back to this one book: The Complete Book of Rhymes, Songs, Poems, Fingerplays, and Chants by Jackie Silber and Pam Schiller.

No matter what topic or what type, this books always has what I’m looking for, and the format is very easy to navigate. It also has a really nice selection of traditional nursery rhymes and tongue twisters interspersed with newer bounces and fingerplays. We have a ton of other books available in the professional collection that all revolve around storytime planning, but this one has certainly been my favorite. I also like that it’s in alphabetical order by title rather than alphabetical by theme. I find the theme-based organization to be a hindrance when you’re just looking for a bounce or fingerplay but don’t really mind what it’s about.

Leave a Reply

