lots of singin’ storytime

Some kind soul purchased Raffi’s Baby Beluga boardbook for our baby shower last year as we were awaiting the arrival of our child. I’ve always loved Raffi (I’d consider myself a “Beluga Grad”), with a love so fierce that I went to see a Raffi concert when he was in my area before I was ever pregnant. Guess what? He was magical. But back to the book! We were reading it last night to our daughter when I thought, “Gee, I think this would be a great storytime book!” And so the idea for this storytime was born. I decided to find one other book that was really a song, and this is the storytime that evolved:

babybeluga If-You-re-Happy-and-You-Know-It-9780823422272

There are many more books in this same vein, but these are a couple of eye-catching ones.

Welcome:

-Good Morning Song

-Shake My Sillies Out, from More Singable Songs by Raffi

Bounces/ Rhymes/Songs:

-I’m A Little Duck

-Toast in the Toaster

-Mother, and Father, and Uncle John

-Rain is Falling Down

-Itsy Bitsy Spider

Read: If You’re Happy and You Know It

Scarf Activities:

-Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes

-Jack in the Box (Jbrary)

-Popcorn Kernels (Jbrary)

-We Wave Our Scarves Together

-“Head and Shoulder” – Ella Jenkins

Read: Baby Beluga

Shaker egg song:

-“You Must Really Like Me” – Parachute Express

Little Mouse Activity

Goodbye + Bubbles:

-“Twinkle, Twinkle” from the album Catch the Moon, by Lisa Loeb and Elizabeth Mitchell.

 

2 thoughts on “lots of singin’ storytime

Leave a Reply

